Inspiration from the bucket list

Halemaumau Crater, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Halemaumau Crater, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

I’ve always loved travelling, and am an absolute nerd when it comes to planning a trip. I’ll research endlessly about the top things to do, best places to stay, always on the look out for a gem that’s a bit off the beaten track.

Hawaii is not exactly off the beaten track, but it’s a place I’ve always wanted to go. So when flights came up on sale a while back, my husband and I jumped on the opportunity. Top of the list of things to do there? LAVA.

On Hawaii’s Big Island there’s an active volcano. It has a lava lake in the crate (pictured above), lava rolling down the hillsides and into the sea, and even a restaurant on the rim of the crater where you can eat beautiful food and look out on the lava glow. Seeing an active volcano was on my bucket list, so it was satisfying to finally tick it off. It was even better than I expected. Standing in the middle of a volcano, the ground warm under your feet from lava deep below, makes you realise why ancient cultures believed a god lived in the volcano. It’s awe-inspiring.

At the risk of sounding like a tourism advert, I think our trip to Hawaii was one of the best holidays I’ve ever taken. This comes from a person who’s constantly scrimping and saving for the next travel adventure. I was so inspired by it, I came home itching to write a book set there.

So, that’s where my current book is set! It’s actually a lot of fun, re-living the highlights of our trip, and putting them into a love story. It was such a romantic place to be, it’s making this book quite easy to write.

What’s on your bucket list? And what sorts of things inspire you?

17 thoughts on “Inspiration from the bucket list

  1. Top of my travel list is the Arctic. I love cold and ice. If I can see the Arctic Ocean in my life, that will be amazing. It’s a little different from volcanoes in Hawaii, but I want to see those, too! My list is so long.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m about to tick a place off my photographers bucket list: Gettysburg! I’m going on the 18th and pretty excited. I’m also doing a family portrait session while I’m in PA, so I’m looking forward to that as well.
    The number one on my travel bucket list (it’s also on my photographers list, but not #1) has been and always will be, Scotland.
    Someday.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I want to go so badly. My great-grandmother was born there. I’m going to do a family tree for my grandmother for Christmas this year, I’m really looking forward to see if there’s anyone fun in my family tree. With a surname of Stewart, there has to be.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been to Hawaii before but didn’t go to the volcano’s and instead mainly visited the beaches and wild life! I would love to go again to see the volcano’s! I’m glad you enjoyed your trip to Hawaii! Another thing on my Bucketlist is to backpack around Europe with a best friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The beaches there are great aren’t they? Europe is definitely another must-do. I think Germany has to be one of my favourite places. Great food, great people, that’s all I need!

      Like

  4. I’ve been to Hawaii before, but I didn’t get to see the volcanoes on the Big Island. I wanted to, but we only got three days passing through, and it was on Oahu I think it was. I got to surf there, which was my first experience surfing. I’ve since surfed in Australia too, but the board was smaller, and so harder to stay on. The boards in Hawaii are huge! I got many waves.

    Like

  5. I am also a “travel nerd” who gets excited just from planning the trip. I’ve also realized I should never go more than a few months without a trip, even if it’s just a day-long getaway to a nearby town. It’s revitalizing.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

